Tig vs Mig vs Stick?

I’m a hobbyist and I’ve been welding with stick all my life (dad taught me when I was 10) and I’m moving and taking a new job as general manager of a growing company. Some of the things that I’ll need to do will involve building metal framing and I’m thinking of selling and getting a new better welder. (Mine is from the early 90’s and kindof on its last leg)

Should I stick (pun intended) with stick or should I try and learn mig or tig? I’ve done a decent amount of copper braising which I’ve heard is similar to tig but everyone says mig is really quick to learn and easy to do if you’ve already learned stick.

I’ll primarily be welding 3” square tubing and occasionally doing smaller framework and the occasional hobby little project things here and there.

I also absolutely love learning new skills hence me wondering if I should switch to a different type of welder.

You can’t go wrong with a mig machine. You have a lot of flexibility with wire selection and shielding gas to weld any thickness of material. It’s fast and easy cleanup.

1 Like

This sounds like something that doesn’t depend on the technically best option as much as it depends on the (your) situation. If ‘general manager at growing company’ means that you’ll always be too busy chasing the latest seeming emergency to put time into exploring and practicing, then the answer is obvious.
Slightly muddy-ing the clarity of the above, is the fact that these days machines are available that can do mig, stick, and tig. You could get that, have the ability to fall back on what you already know, AND the capacity to work on learning, without needing to take up space etc with multiple machines. Which you do be wanting to do if possible, because mig is the go-to for the type of work you’re talking about doing.

I didn’t know that there was machines that can do all 3, I’ve seen combo mig tig but never all 3. That’s a good idea.