Zep Floor Stripper for Degreasing?

What do you guys use to degrease your tools & machines in your shop? We’ve found that Zep floor stripper works great for this (as long as you don’t dilute it or use it on cheap paint). Anyone else tried this?

Jason showed this in his Favorite Things video from last year (it starts 22 seconds in)

lol. My poor machines probably could use a degrease… WD-40 if it’s a problem tho

If it can’t be cleaned with WD40 and/or Simple Green, it doesn’t deserve cleaning!

1 Like

After seeing Jasons video about the floor stripper, I bought a gallon, wow, my new favorite cleaner for oil / greasy stuff. ( I just over hauled a 1920 commercial, Singer sewing machine, the inside workings were covered in 100 year oil and dirt, the stripper and a light brush did wonders. Great tip.

2 Likes

I work in the field and don’t always have my good products on hand at a given time. That said, I’ve had great luck with purple power for several years now. Mix it very strong with little water for diluting and let the chemical do the work. It can be found at almost any auto parts store or walmart. I’ve also found the ZEP wheel cleaner does a great job in a pinch.