Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing

Just joined after watching the saga of the fabricated frames and “tables”.
I’m a retired engineer with fab experience prior to ASME Certification (GDTP #0274) and a 30 year career in “Dimensional Management”- An engineering discipline that helps part and tool designers design parts and make tools so the parts just fit.
I try to keep up a column in “The Fabricator” magazine (Mike Matusky) and will try to answer questions on GD&T on The Fireball Forum.

Thank you for doing this.

I wrote this just before I watched the Fireball video on fixture tables…
Response to “When is the Right Time to Build a Welding Fixture?” in “The Welder” Sept/Oct 2023

Is GD&T included in the designs of the component parts?

It has been said that GD&T is a contract with inspection but a really good suggestion for production. The basis for this is when parts are inspected according to their GD&T the (datum) features that establish the coordinate system for part inspection are specified in the design. They are a very specific instruction set for the Metrologist or Inspector.

Sometimes a poor selection for the datums results in the tail wagging the dog; an inexperienced Designer “picks” datum features that are easy for Design resulting in measurements being made relative to meaningless surfaces and edges. What should be happening here is the Designer sharing an understanding with a Fixture Designer to select a set of datum features that indicate how the part will be held in the fixture (or in the next assembly/weldment).

A weld (or assembly) fixture can be thought of as a set of locators (GD&T speak: “Datum Simulators”) for each component to hold them all in the single, correct relationship. Some of the locators are built into the fixture; other locators are features of parts already placed in the fixture. Loading sequence matters, and sometimes it’s critical.